Photo
- - - - -

Tama-Go

• This topic is locked This topic is locked

binary

• binary user photo
  • Group: Senior TamaTalk Guides

Posted 01 July 2010 - 04:49 AM ( #1 )

I am disclosing that I received TamaTown Product from Bandai America Incorporated to review.

When Bandai offered Admin of TamaTalk a Tama-Go to preview, he asked Bandai if they can send a Tama-Go to a few TamaTalk staff members - including me. Bandai agreed to do so. :( A package from Bandai arrived today. To my surprise, it included not only a Tama-Go, but also contained an expansion figurine. Thank you Bandai and thank you Admin.

Here are some photos of the Mametchi Tama-Go, and the expansion Ringotchi figurine, in their packages.

/>

/>

After opening the packages, I did a quick 360-degree tour of the Tama-Go. Here are some interesting points.

Entirely new to the Tama-Go, is the ability to change the patterned faceplate which surrounds the screen.
/>
There's a fingernail-size groove at the bottom of the lens.

/>
The lens pops off nicely. Not too hard; not to easy. Notice the little fingers near the top, that help keep it in place.

/>
Behind the clear plastic lens, rests the patterned paper faceplate.

/>
Here's a photo of the contacts that the expansion figurine slides onto, on the top of the Tama-Go.

/>
The contacts on the expansion figurines are heart-shaped.

/>
The battery hatch is held in place by a screw. This is common to other North-American models, but different when compared to recent Japanese models such as the Tamagotchi Plus Color and the Tamagotchi-iD.

The Tama-Go doesn't include batteries. It takes 2 AAA size batteries, which are easy enough to find. After removing the battery hatch, I found four more screws. Since I happened to have a screwdriver in my hand already...
/>
The circuit board remains attached to the back; it's the front that comes off when those four screws were removed.

/>