Tama Shell & Screen Care Guide

TamaTalk

Help Support TamaTalk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
Hello! This topic is all about how to keep your Tama's outer shell and screen clean, clear and good as new!

TOP TIPS

1. Wear is unavoidable; if you run a Tama (especially Connections) for a few weeks, expect the paint to start coming off and fading. However, if it's really faded, you might want to re-paint it. I'm not an expert on this, so you might want to create a topic about it in Help For New Tama Owners.

2. DON'T use any kind of metallic marker on any Tama. I have made this mistake several times, and the result is a dirty, half-faded colour that won't come off whatever you do. Either paint it properly or leave the shell alone!

3. Avoid touching the screen with your fingers; the result is bad enough on Connections, but much worse on the iD (L).

HOW TO KEEP THE SHELL CLEAN

Use this routine every week, and your Tama's shell should stay clean, although this routine does not prevent wear.

1. Get some kitchen paper and slightly wet it, then wring it out.

2. Rub it all over your Tama CAREFULLY, avoiding getting it in the screen and battery compartment. You can do this with the Tama's battery still in.

3. Carefully dry your Tama using kitchen paper. You may also want to dry inside the battery compartment (not that it should be wet in the first place). If so, I recommend removing the batteries first.

HOW TO KEEP THE SCREEN CLEAN

This is quite simple. Simply spit on the screen, then rub it in with your sleeve/other clothing. Don't play with your iD L under the covers at night - your breath steams up the screen. Yes, I've tried it! :D

TAMA EMERGENCY KIT