Paticipate in a reseach study!

TamaTalk

Help Support TamaTalk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

cate233

Reaction score
Hi! My name is Catherine Caudwell and I am a researcher in the School of Design at Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand.

I would like to invite Tamatalk community members to participate in my PhD research project.

The Stories Tell Objects Project aims to understand the role that storytelling plays in people's interactions with electronic companions - such as Hasbro’s Furby - and the relationships we form with them. Participation includes responding in writing to various images and videos, and/or completing 2 short questionnaires. It should hopefully be a fun and creative exercise!

If you would like to learn more, or are interested in participating in this study, please visit: www.storiestellobjects.net

I would greatly appreciate any input from fans of electronic companions and virtual pets.

Thank you for your attention and consideration.

Kind regards,

Catherine Caudwell

PhD Candidate

School of Design

Victoria University

Wellington 6011

New Zealand

Explanatory PM sent to cate233 about personal website ads or links.

Last edited by a moderator:
This research sounds really interesting!

Ms. Caudwell tells me the results will be posted online for everyone to check out once work is complete.

I encourage everyone to check it out. :D

I looked it over and uh.... well, um.... not to be brash but a lot of the images and such seem rather... dark. Almost seems like a lot of things are almost demonizing the poor things. At least for the pictures. The videos seem rather sad, well the first one anyway, and then the one with the blue one, my god. o_O And the instructions, again, seems to be of bad light.

This is all just my opinion, though. Just a little scared looking at all the stuff. ^^;

Thanks for the feedback!