Is Tamagotchi Friends worth getting? Recommend?

TamaTalk

Help Support TamaTalk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Unic0rn

Reaction score
Hello! Not really a new Tamagotchi owner, but I haven't touched those in a long while.

So, I own a v3, v4.5 and a v5, my fave out of these being v4.5 but I love v3 as well. After rebooting my v4.5 a few days ago, I've been getting cravings to buy a more modern tama to see how they changed and experience some new characters, and so far, Tamagotchi Friends seems like a cool option due to the very low price it has. However, I've seen a lot of negativity surrounding it around the web.

I've got a few questions, I tried my best to research but I am not sure on all of them.

1. How is the maintenance? I am looking for a low maintenance, somewhat simple (I consider v3 to be simple) but not overly boring Tamagotchi. I am an artist and tend to get lost in work for long periods of time, so I'd like something that won't die on me in a short timespan.

2. I've heard you can't name your critters in that version, is that true? I mean, telling your friends Bob just got poop in the mail is oddly amusing even at my age. :lol:

3. Do the tamas die or leave in this version? I am rather easily spooked by death (don't judge please, I've had experiences) and the concept of something that's supposed to be cute and fun dying always creeps me out to the point I am too paranoid to look after my critters and end up pausing them often.

4. I've heard there are no items for the lil guys to use, but we get to collect jewellery. Is there a lot of it, is it expensive enough/hard to get so it does actually take some time and effort to collect? I love collecting achievements in games so this idea sort of appeals to me, assuming it's not something that can be done in a day.

Things that I don't care about but saw other people complaining about: