Alright so, I'm not very good at telling things apart at first glance, especially not Mini's and Original P1/P2s. There's this listing on eBay, and I can't tell if it's a mini or a P1. It has the same shell as a few minis ive seen but I know that minis are based on the original tamagotchi's, so I'm not sure. Also, since they're photos on eBay, i can't physically discern the size of the listed tamagotchi vs a tamagotchi mini. This listing itself is probably a P1/P2, as it has 1997 on the back, but sometimes listings don't include photos of the back, so.

How can I tell the difference between a Tamagotchi P1/P2 and a Tamagotchi Mini?

I mainly ask because I want to know for future reference even though I can tell in this particular scenario so I don't have to worry too hard about it on a later date and can solve the mystery on my own. Does anyone know an effective way to tell P1/P2s apart from Mini's without using size?

You can show us a picture and we will probably know.

As for visible differences, I'd say that Minis seem more "round" and seem to have a slightly smaller screen-to-shell ratio?

Also the packages are different, if that helps.

P1/P2's usually come in packages like this:

https://pixelsandplastic.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/p1tama1011-boxset1.jpg (USA)

Or this:

img_0753_resized_by_tamagotchiocean-dbjf (Japan)

While Minis come in a white blister, which is based on the European release- European releases are the rarest of the three and usually come for way more than USA/Japanese versions.

That's how the European release P1 looks like, notice that it's not necessarily a blister:

https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/tamagotchi/images/8/80/European_tamagotchi.JPG/revision/latest?cb=20131009004935

Edited by Jhud
  • Like 2