Mini vs Originals

TamaTalk

Help Support TamaTalk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

QueenRita

Reaction score
Alright so, I'm not very good at telling things apart at first glance, especially not Mini's and Original P1/P2s. There's this listing on eBay, and I can't tell if it's a mini or a P1. It has the same shell as a few minis ive seen but I know that minis are based on the original tamagotchi's, so I'm not sure. Also, since they're photos on eBay, i can't physically discern the size of the listed tamagotchi vs a tamagotchi mini. This listing itself is probably a P1/P2, as it has 1997 on the back, but sometimes listings don't include photos of the back, so.

How can I tell the difference between a Tamagotchi P1/P2 and a Tamagotchi Mini?

I mainly ask because I want to know for future reference even though I can tell in this particular scenario so I don't have to worry too hard about it on a later date and can solve the mystery on my own. Does anyone know an effective way to tell P1/P2s apart from Mini's without using size?

You can show us a picture and we will probably know.

As for visible differences, I'd say that Minis seem more "round" and seem to have a slightly smaller screen-to-shell ratio?

Also the packages are different, if that helps.

P1/P2's usually come in packages like this:

https://pixelsandplastic.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/p1tama1011-boxset1.jpg (USA)

Or this:

img_0753_resized_by_tamagotchiocean-dbjfu95.jpg
(Japan)

While Minis come in a white blister, which is based on the European release- European releases are the rarest of the three and usually come for way more than USA/Japanese versions.

That's how the European release P1 looks like, notice that it's not necessarily a blister:

https://vignette.wikia.nocookie.net/tamagotchi/images/8/80/European_tamagotchi.JPG/revision/latest?cb=20131009004935

Last edited by a moderator: