Oboe!

TamaTalk

Help Support TamaTalk:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

psychotama

Reaction score
Hey guys. I've been playing clarinet for 5 years and I randomly decided I wanted to play the oboe. I've been playing for about a month now and have progressed very nicely. I finished the first Essential Elements book for oboe about a week ago.

I just wondered if I could get some tips from experienced players since I am teaching myself and have no instruction except for the book heheh. So please comment with any tips you might have. Thanks!

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm not an experienced oboe player, but I am a clarinet player. Some tips that might be able to help you are:

1. Keep a tight embouchure, but not too tight.

2. The reeds should be held with your lips, not lip-covered teeth.

3. Keep your chin flat.

Question: Are you having any trouble with your lips getting tired very quickly?

Yay, an oboe player! :-D I've been playing now for.... a little over four years, and i plan to play through high school and maybe have it be my major in college. So, i guess you could say I'm an experienced player.

As far as tips go, nothing pops into my head, but if you have any specific questions, then i'll try to answer them.

I can't play the clarinet or the oboe :angry: . I can play the flute though. Is the oboe bass or treble clef?

Thanks guys. And I'm not having any trouble with clarinet Tori but good advice.

That's great paislypuppy! I really like the oboe. I don't think my band director would let me play it in band though because we only have 2 good clarinet players, me and a senior whose graduating so I get to be section leader next year! I'll keep practicing the oboe though.

that's great! i really love it, i'm in band and orchestra at my school, and in orchestra i'm the only oboe player. it's great cuz i get solos and stuff.